Skip to content

Today was the Day that I Grew Balls

October 26, 2010

In life I have never really done or went somewhere myself. There were always someone to hold my hands. To show me the way. It did not matter what age I was. My first steps was never taking alone. Well today the earth shook because I grew balls!
I took the train for the first time from Esslingen to Boblingen all by myself.

Esslingen to Boblingen

The Red Dots show you Esslingen and Boblingen

This map make it look close but it was not that close. The train ride was 40 minutes one way.

At first I was feeling so nervous. I was like what if I miss my train trying to figure out the machine. The machine has choices of what language to use, but with time flying and trying to understand the system one mind can scatter and choose the wrong thing. So I bought my ticket and look at my watch. I had 10 minutes left to get to the inside of the train station. With the help of a young man I found which platform I should stand at.

The train arrived and I got on. Took my camera out of my bag and start snapping photos. Just enjoying the ride with a big cheese on my face of feeling so proud. I reached in Boblingen in amazement that I did not get off early or later, but ended up where I wanted to be. While I was waiting for my friend and excitedly talking to her on my cell phone. I fell in a ditch and landed on my butt! I was too excited and happy that I had to bust out laughing at myself and laid down on the ground since I was there already talking on the phone looking up at the sky. Eventually, I got up and fell down again, lol. I am like the most clumsy person that I know! My friend arrive and I was so happy to see her. Without her I don’t think this day would of happen. The earth would not shake and I would not grow balls, lol. She showed me around Boblingen, Sindelfingen, and her city Grafenau. Each cities were absolutely nice and had their own characteristics. So far Sindelfingen is my favorite only because it has a KFC:) Will definitely go there just to have a bite of KFC. KFC are so rare over here and not everything is offer like they have in the state.

I enjoy my day with my friend and it was time to go back home. Her lovely husband droved me to the train station and they both made sure I got on the right train, lol, God bless their hearts. We said our goodbyes and shortly the train arrived. A nice peaceful ride of knowing I did it and can do it again and will do it again! Because this was the day I grew balls!
First Train Ride in Germany

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2010 1:32 am

    Gosh – I am so proud of you! Feels great doesn’t it? I used to have someone holding my hand ALL THE TIME until a self imposed period of stop myself from being a baby. You must be super proud of yourself. I love the train station photo 🙂

    • October 27, 2010 7:29 am

      Thank you and I am. You should of seen me when I was first checking out the schedule and it had a lot of stops and transfers. I was really freaking out and changed my mind. So I email my friend if what I had was correct and she made it easier for me by finding a train that will take me straight there without the stop. Meaning that she would pick me up from a train station just 10 minutes away from her house. I was like cool I can handle that, lol

  2. unabridgedgirl permalink
    October 27, 2010 4:21 am

    I am glad you took up courage and traveled by yourself! That’s awesome! 🙂 I’m also glad you didn’t get hurt when you fell in the ditch. I can relate, though, as I am chronically accident prone (C.A.P.)!

    • October 27, 2010 7:34 am

      Thank you, this trip yesterday really open up many shopping doors for me, lol. Now I can go to other places and see what they have, lol. It sucks being accident prone sometimes doesn’t it? I have a few scar on my head because I am too tall, on my hands since I been cooking, on my legs when I was learning to ride a bike. Thank goodness nothing yesterday because the weather was too cold. I had on two pants, a hoody fur sleeves jacket and my poodle coat over it with my book bag on back. Enough cushion for a soft landing, lol

Leave a Reply

