Skip to content

What does Your Dream Says to You

October 22, 2010

Do you believe in dreams? Do you interpret your dreams? Does your dream scare you shitless if not make you laugh in your sleep?
Yesterday I dreamed of my cousin. We were very close. He died over 5 years ago. You know when you wake up from a dream you can remember every detail but as the day goes by you tend to forget some of the stuff that took place in the dream. So this post won’t be long:)


In the dream, I dreamed seeing my cousin twice. First time was somewhere earlier in the dream he passed me and I said, “Sheldon” is that you?” and he continue walking. Second time in the dream was at the very end before I woke up. I was in the kitchen with my mother cleaning out the refrigerator. My mother and I was having our usual conversation. This made the dream felt so real! The back of the refrigerator turned into a window. I saw my cousin again and said, “Sheldon are you here for me?” He look at me and smile. Then instantly I heard my mother saying, “STOP THAT!” This woke me up out of my sleep.
How do one know when it is there time to die?
I always heard in reality and on tv people who know when it is there time to go. My grandmother and family member who has pass away of whom I been close to always use to say, “I am going to die soon.” You look at them and tell them not to say that, you won’t die, or that is a foolish thing to say! But days, weeks, or month later they die. Do they have dreams that someone is taking them away? Can they feel a darkness over them? How do they know? I honestly think if I have not heard the sound of my mother voice I would of died in my sleep or maybe this year. Who knows! I have many time dream that I was falling from a cliff but woke up before I hit the ground. Many of us have this dream.
So I woke up and immediately grab my husband tighter to tell him I love him, but not of my dream. He don’t like when I dream at times and hate it that I feed into my dreams. He would blame it on junk tv watching as he call it or my conscious working on me unconsciously. But I have not watch any tv and I have nothing on my conscious.
I called my mother to tell her I love her and told her my dream and she laughed. She laughed because she was in my dream. I never ever dreamed of my mother and we are very close like sisters.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. unabridgedgirl permalink
    October 22, 2010 7:47 pm

    Dreams really are interesting sometimes. Most of the time I think it’s what our mind has processed unconsciously throughout the day or last couple of days. Other times, I’m not so sure. It’s interesting that you had a dream about your cousin. I had a dream about my grandmother once, shortly after her funeral. She was standing in a field, and then she was gone.

  2. October 22, 2010 8:14 pm

    Ya, I thought it was weird too. I had no reason to think about my cousin. I did not go through my photo albums or ran across any old photos. I went to bed without watching tv all yesterday. It was really good to see him in the dream though. His smile was very warm and welcoming as usual. Just utterly weird to be dreaming of him. (in many movies and in my family they always say when time come someone close to you or you know will get you and lead you the way).
    I wonder if that was your grandmother trying to say goodbye to you. It is interesting though I could picture her when you wrote, “She was standing in a field, and then she was gone.” It actually sound beautiful and draws emotions.

  3. October 24, 2010 4:13 pm

    I often think about my dreams as well and try to interpret their meaning. Sometimes, it’s impossible, they are just too bizarre to understand or figure out. My dad passed away 11 years ago. On a rare occasion, I see him and I think it’s just his way of dropping by to say hello. I love seeing him in my dreams, all healthy and happy. I like to think that he just wants to let me know he’s watching over me and he’s proud of who I’ve become. Maybe your cousin just wanted to do the same, say hello and let you know he’s happy.

    Although, I do think that sometimes when people are near death, their loved ones who have gone before may come to guide them home. My grandmother was near death several years ago, and she was having hallucinations. Well, we thought they were because we couldn’t see who she saw, but my brother and I thought she was seeing her family because she died the next day. Who knows, just try not to stress too much about it and just think of it as a good thing.

  4. October 24, 2010 4:58 pm

    Sorry to hear about your dad. My mom said the same thing. She said perhaps good things are coming my way like a baby. I ask her why would the dead bring good news about a baby. She said because the living and dead balance each other. I was like okay mom I wait and see but if not love you anyway, lol.

  5. October 25, 2010 2:26 am

    Funny that your mother said that. When we were trying to have a baby the first time around, I was SO SURE I was not pregnant. This was about 5 months after my dad passed. I had a dream of him and he was just smiling the biggest smile at me. You know the kind, that warm, loving happy smile. And I think it’s because he knew that we really were pregnant at that time, we found out a week or so later. So….you never know. 🙂

    • October 25, 2010 8:39 am

      Oh my goodness this is good news! (love waking up to good news)

      You know that saying the apple never fall to far from the tree. In my family we have the saying the nuts never fall to far from the tree, lol. Because we are a family of nuts, lol. It will be so funny if the same thing as you happen to me. I honestly doubt it though. I use to always think I am pregnant and was not. Now I just think I am never pregnant so that I won’t get disappointed. I should know when my unwanted guest show up on the first week of November. She always show up on time just to say hello, I have not forgotten about you, lol. My response to her is alway, “Oh great, you could though I wouldn’t mind, lol”

  6. October 26, 2010 3:56 am

    Beautifully written and gives me something to think about.

Leave a Reply

