Skip to content

Look in the Mirror before Speaking

October 7, 2010

I will and can never understand some people frame of mind. I can understand not all of us think before we speak. It is easier to communicate behind the screen with the delete, backspace, copy, and paste. But in life their are no buttons or command to undo what one do/say.

Look into the Mirror before you SpeakThat said yesterday a comment was made about a girl from China in my class. We were playing a quiz and she answer a technology question wrong. The guy in my class ask her, “How could you get that wrong. Your Chinese! Your from China! China is leader of technology and etc..etc..” I was like lay off man but ofcourse said it to myself as the whole class laugh over something utterly not funny. The young lady just smile and chuckle at it. I don’t know if she was embarrassed or not. Today same Predator and same Prey. We had to choose a person who we wanted to ask a grammatical question to. He choose the young lady. But instead of staying her name. He said, “Mrs. ChingChang”. The whole class laugh again. My mouth drop open like no he did not! The teacher laugh it off and said, “her name is Amy.” I just wanted to stand up and yell at everyone and tell them stop laughing this is not funny it is mean. How would you like to be call out of your name, mock, poke at because of how you look or where you come from. I was so tempting to say all this. Instead I told myself Lora stop! You are always fighting someone battle. The person need to stand up for themselves. I felt bad for her, but I did told myself one more of this outburst I am going to let him have it. My Deutsch might be butcher but I am damn sure going to make sure what I say is clear and understood.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2010 9:39 pm

    Personally I think you are in class with people who are professional idiots. LOL – don’t let stupid people get to you. Mind you I do love playing up to my Asian stereotype – people find it off-putting and weird. But you are so right – if the girl isn’t going to defend herself then it is really her lost at the end of the day. I can’t really think of a time when I had been made fun of because of my heritage but then I am never one to take that kind of rubbish from people.

  2. October 19, 2010 10:06 pm

    I applaud you Devour for not taking crap from no one!
    Everyone has their faults. No one is perfect! I don’t understand how someone can act superior than others. I can understand if it is a close friend, long time boyfriend, or husband who is poking at you in a playful way. Okay that is a joke, but a stranger. Someone you hardly know belittling you/me in front of a group of people…Hell to the No!

  3. October 19, 2010 10:25 pm

    You are so sweet 🙂
    I used to get really bogged down with what people thought about me but it made my late teen and early 20s terribly unhappy and un-fulfilling. I realise now that life is short and it is yours so you should enjoy it – I am too old to deal with what people think of me. As long as my actions are no illegal and grossly immoral then I am sweet.

    • October 20, 2010 8:06 am

      I sorry to hear that, but I am happy and relieve to hear that you ” realize now that life is short and it is yours so you should enjoy it!”
      You are you! Continue loving “you”. What other people think is their problem. They deal with it. The only time I will change me is if I was working in a certain field and need to dress and act appropriately, lol.

      P.S. You are sweet!

Leave a Reply

