Skip to content

Melisse my new Love

September 15, 2011

melisse plant
I have found a new love call Melisse. Melisse is also known as a lemon balm not to be mistaking with lemon grass. Two weeks ago I notice this beautiful lush of green leaves and it was quite different from my other herbal plants. I would use in decoration or cooking. So I said why not, if it taste nasty than than the leaves can be a nice decor as a photo prop.

The first thing I did was place it in front of my kitchen window so it wouldn’t die quick. But I have read this particular plant will grow in the sun or shade. It does not matter. It is like the perfect plant because plants last a week with me indoor. I tasted a leaf and found it to be quite interested in a good way. That day I made a breakfast sandwich and said these leaves are pretty for a photo. I place a few inside and took a photo. After the food photo shoot I took a bite. My goodness it was so good that I made another one. Sadly it only lasted for two weeks because I am just bad with indoor plants. I either water it too much or not enough who knows. I had to throw it out and buy a new plant to take its place at Lidle. Lidle is the only store around here that I have notice have this plant. I have went to the big name stores and could not find it. Sad thing is at the same Lidle I bought it from they hardly have it either. I think not too many people know of it so they keep a low stock. This gave me the push to do a research to see what is it really and what is it good for. Also where could I buy the seeds:)
Special made French Toast with Ham, Gouda, Tomatoes, and Melisse
Melisse is a perennial, 50-75 cm tall, bushy plant. It helps with sleep disorders, nervousness, herpes blisters, athlete’s foot, bile disorders, rheumatism, toothaches, headaches and stress. In addition, lemon balm stimulates the appetite. Melissa combat stomach cramps, difficult digestion with flatulence, and headaches. More info can be found on Wiki. It does not give a lot of information as the German Wiki and the American Wiki call it Melissa with an “a” instead of an “e” at the end.

The lemon balm, is grown in gardens since ancient times. Originally from Europe, it was introduced in North America. Stems and leaves are still used as a tonic and mild stimulant. The alcohol obtained by distillation of fresh leaves: water lemon balm has antispasmodic properties. Lemon balm can also be consumed as herbal teas.

In cooking, lemon balm gives a fresh flavor to meat, poultry, fish, soups, puddings, fruit salads and vegetables. It is used in Spain to flavor the milk.Use in salads, sauces, vegetables and meat dishes, herbs and tea production, punch, with fish and mushroom dishes. Who knew I was going to find something I was merely thinking to use as a photo prop which has a huge health benefits in all sort of ways. I will start to buy this particular plant more often/ grow it.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2011 5:59 pm

    MMMMM i love lemon. I have lemon grass growing outside, and i have tried lemon balm before and loved it. Strangely, i could not find it this year… ??

    • September 16, 2011 12:48 pm

      Hi Kim, I wonder if lemon grass and balm have the same taste or if one taste is stronger than the other. You should do a search over the computer they might sell it on Amazon. They sell Melisse on Amazon.de. Wishing you a wonderful weekend.

  2. September 15, 2011 8:34 pm

    My friend’s jag is always in the shop. The mechanic said it’s a lemon.

  3. September 15, 2011 10:58 pm

    I’ve never heard of Melisse before ever.. but I am getting hungry just looking at the dish above lol.

  4. September 16, 2011 7:36 pm

    What a beautiful plant. I’ve given up on growing any kind of garden, sadly. I just don’t have the time anymore.

    • September 16, 2011 9:00 pm

      Hi DD, I understand. My mother in law always tell me though the best garden is the garden one do nothing to. Let mother nature do all the work. I still have not listen because I am thinking mother nature must go on vacation sometime. Wishing you a wonderful weekend.

  5. September 17, 2011 9:37 pm

    Lemon balm is lovely, I have it growing wild at my place.. it is great in a tea.. pity yours died, keep snipping and watering it will come back maybe?.. c

    • September 19, 2011 9:37 am

      Hi Cecil welcome to my page and I hope you had a wonderful weekend.:)!
      I have tried it in tea and it was so soothing. I actually like it better than my mint tea I drink now and then. I have a question for you. The Lemon balm…when they are outside in the winter time do they like hibernate and come back itself in the spring or summer like tulips? You also mention snipping and watering. How often should I water them and snip them also where? I really plan to start growing my own for sure in the spring because I know they won’t last long with me indoor.

  6. September 18, 2011 1:40 pm

    I’m going to see if my plant store has any. :)

  7. September 19, 2011 3:18 pm

    Thank you! I did!

    Hope you had the same. :)

Trackbacks

  1. It’s the Little Things « Life in a Nutshell

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers