Skip to content

Dragon Fruit

November 12, 2010

Dragon Fruit also known as Pitaya or Pitahaya fruit. This plant is actually a type of cactus, and the fruit comes in 3 colors: 2 have pink skin, but with different colored flesh (one white, the other red), while another type is yellow with white flesh. Dragon fruit is low in calories and offers numerous nutrients, including Vitamin C, phosphorus, calcium, plus fiber and antioxidants. You will know when they are ready to be eating. The tips of the Dragon Fruit will tell you. Once you don’t see the green tips it is ready to eat.
Dragon Fruit
I found nothing wrong with eating a Dragon Fruit. It was not sweet or sour. I actually ate the whole thing. It has a nice calm taste to it and you can eat the seeds. Just a little crunchy but not so crunchy you will feel annoyed. I would love to buy some more of this fruit but it is almost 2 Euro for a fruit big as my hand. Perhaps once every now and then I will splurge on costly fruits.

Yellow Dragaon Fruit - it is brown at the tip meaning I let it over ripe a bit


I have not tried the red dragon fruit. I bought the yellow because the vendor told me it was sweeter than the red. I plan to try the red next time I am in the mood to splurge!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. unabridgedgirl permalink
    November 12, 2010 11:44 pm

    What an odd looking fruit! LoL I’m pretty sure we don’t have that here in the U.S. I bet it tastes interesting. All the seeds remind me of kiwi for some reason.

    • November 12, 2010 11:59 pm

      Hey Mckenzie!:)
      I might had let it over ripe or something because the taste was very mild, but not bad. I would say fruits like this is great for people who are a diabetic. But don’t quote me on this .. just saying, lol, only because of the taste. It is funny you mention kiwi. I was reading somewhere on the net and it said that dragon fruits are almost like a cross between a kiwi and a pear. And I like both so perhaps that is why I like this one.

  2. November 15, 2010 1:57 am

    Goodness, you sure are adventurous with food! I’ve never heard of this either, do you have any idea where it grows? Sound yummy, I love kiwi and pears :)

    • November 15, 2010 10:57 am

      Hi Digital. I love exploring plus I like to try new things. My motto is atleast give something a go once (that is not harmful, illegal, or too crazy:). If I like it it is a keeper, if not move on.
      I found this info on Wilipedia “The vine-like epiphytic Hylocereus Pitaya producing cacti are native to Mexico, Central America, and South America. They are also cultivated in Asian countries such as Taiwan, Vietnam, Thailand, the Philippines, Sri Lanka and Malaysia. They are also found in Okinawa, Hawaii, Israel, northern Australia and southern China”.

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dragon_Fruit

      They have photos of how people display them on the plate. One even look like someone was cooking it. I am going to look more into this at another time what else can I do with the fruit beside just cutting it and eating it:)

  3. wawan permalink
    February 9, 2012 7:53 am

    Hello Sir/Madam…,
    Can I buy some cutting seed of yellow dragon fruit?
    Wawan Suwandi
    East Borneo Indonesia

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 106 other followers